my mob dress

no.  i haven’t joined the mafia, silly!  mob = mother-of-the-bride  (ha-ha.  yeah, i know.  dumb joke.)

so, here’s where i am so far in getting myself ready for this grand occasion…

after much searching, i finally found a dressmaker who seemed like she would understand me. 

her models are plus-sized so i can see what the dresses actually look like on someone like me.  (as opposed to looking at a size 4 and guessing…) 

also, it’s very important that the person making the dress understand the fitting needs of a plus-sized body.  there’s sometimes a tendancy when sizing up a dress to size up everything.  but, you know, i don’t have linebacker shoulders just because other parts of me are bigger…

here’s a link to lucy’s etsy shop so you can see her stuff.  http://www.etsy.com/shop/hissyfitoly  and here’s the dress i originally fell in love with.  http://www.etsy.com/listing/64347588/punk-as-flannel-sundress-with-matching  mine will be similar to this.  but without the skulls, darn it.

i sent her my measurements so she could start making adjustments to her master pattern.  (if you’ve never taken your full measurements, i don’t recommend it.  that much reality is never fun.)

after much searching, i found the fabric for the dress.  we knew what we wanted.  they just didn’t have enough at most of the stores.  (obviously a very popular fabric.  i just found a yard or two here and there…)  after a day-long odessey touring most of the jo-ann stores in orange county, i finally found it in buena park. 

i mailed lucy the fabric last week.  (she’s in washington state.)  she just sent me a couple pictures of possible lining fabrics, which i forwarded to finley.  since it’s her wedding, i figure she should have some say in the matter…  i have my favorite.  but what do you think?  (the brown is the dress fabric.  the other will be the lining of the jacket and the trim at the hem and neckline of the dress.)

i bought everything i need to make a crinoline for under the dress.  i can’t really start on it until i have the dress though since i need to make sure of the final length. 

i have my shoes.  i kind of have a purse.  but if i can find something else, that would be good.  i’d like my purse to be something other than brown.

i think that’s it.  for me anyway.  i still have stuff to make for finley.  the actual bride…  (yay!  my baby’s a bride!)

2 thoughts on “my mob dress

  1. I checked out the dress style and I think it is FAB!!! I cant wait to see the whole enchilada! You are going to look gorgeous and Finley will be so very happy 😀
    xxxoooo diane

Leave a Reply

